Song of the Week

Overture to Candide by Leonard Bernstein

There is something about a composer conducting one of his own compositions. I have always wondered what it’s like. It’s HIS piece of music. Those are HIS chords, HIS melodies, HIS transitions. He spends weeks, months, maybe even years if he’s Beethoven or Brahms, crafting his composition. He knows it inside and out. God gave it to HIM, not to anybody else. Watching Lenny conduct one of his own pieces gives me chills. He is in complete control. Just look at him… He’s so comfortable. He knows exactly how to execute the piece. He knows what it’s capable of, just as a mother knows what her child is capable of.

Last weekend, I attended a Detroit Symphony Orchestra concert. It was their 20th annual “Salute to America” concert where they play tunes by American composers in honor of Independence Day. Their first tune was this overture. I never heard Lenny’s masterpiece performed live before, so this concert was especially touching. The DSO did a wonderful job! Not only with the overture, but with all of the pieces they played!

I hope that you all enjoy this wonderful piece of music! Let it speak to you as you would any other song.

Hopefully the heat isn’t too bad for everyone! It got into the hundreds here this past week. I’m not complaining!! :) Stay cool

-Live and love your life!

About liveloveyourlife

Hello! I was very hesitant to start this blog and have thought long and hard about it for months. I have always been afraid of writing but recently discovered that it really isn't too bad. I'm a high school student who loves to talk, play and listen to music, learn, meet new people, research, and study just about anything. I LOVE United States History, social psychology, teaching, and classical music. Two of my favorite things to do everyday are interact with people, and watch people interact with each other. I am a perfectionist who loves to get the job done (on time). I am also a sucker for movies... I could spend a whole day watching movies. I also enjoy reading; however, I have a hard time motivating myself to read. I love to travel and would love to go to New York City (because of my passion towards people and city life), Washington D.C. (my love for history and politics), Boston (just seems like a really awesome place), Los Angeles- or any other Southern Californian city (I have an obsession over Southern Californian architecture), and Italy (I am very proud of my Italian culture, and I do have relatives in Italy who I've never even met!!)... These are just the places on the top of my head!!! I have many idols who continue to swap the number one spot on my "list of idols" very often. Currently, my number one male idol is Leonard Bernstein (the BEST conductor ever), and my number one female idol is Goldie Hawn (the BEST actress ever). Other than that, one of my biggest lifetime goals is to inspire as many people as possible. I believe we all have the power to inspire each other and I think we should use that power more often. I also love life and encourage myself and everybody I know to live it to the fullest. You should never ever live the same day twice!

Posted on July 7, 2012, in Song of the Week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Isn’t it such a lovely piece?? His music is just as brilliant as his conducting! Thanks for listening :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

