Song of the Week

California Dreamin by The Mamas and The Papas

I don’t think there is any other song out there that says 1960s like this one. There is something about this song – perhaps that eerie guitar intro, or the dismal lyrics – that makes it wonderful. The vocals of this piece are brilliant, with that “call-answer” technique. “All the leaves are brown, all the leaves are broooooown.” The melancholy tone of this piece is brilliant too. Maybe that’s why it took so long for this song to gain attention.

Most ’50s and early ’60s songs are upbeat, because of course many people would dance to them. Then it seems that by the mid and late-1960s a totally new style of music emerged, like the style featured in this song. I mean you could try dancing to this song, but it’s better to just listen to it while relaxing by the pool or on the beach. The imagery that this song portrays is great as well. That longing of being in California, basking in the sun on one of the beaches, or driving with the top down on Route 66. California was the place to be back in the ’60s.

This song really strikes me because I have wanted to go to southern California for a while now. I should say, that I’ve been “dreaming” of going to California. Many people say it’s overrated, but I think it’s filled with so much history. That lovely Spanish-style architecture, the music, the movies, the sun, the busy freeways, the palm trees, Sunset Blvd., Hollywood Blvd., hell even the smog!

The unique thing about California is that since the 1800s, people have been flocking there for opportunities. At first it was the Gold Rush, then the religious reformations, then the Okies searching for better lives during the Great Depression, then the World War II weapon manufacturing centers, then the movie industry, then the Hippie movement! Did I miss anything???? California, the “land of opportunity,” the promised land, has served as a beacon of hope for many people, and still remains that way today.

-Live and love your life!

About liveloveyourlife

Hello! I was very hesitant to start this blog and have thought long and hard about it for months. I have always been afraid of writing but recently discovered that it really isn't too bad. I'm a high school student who loves to talk, play and listen to music, learn, meet new people, research, and study just about anything. I LOVE United States History, social psychology, teaching, and classical music. Two of my favorite things to do everyday are interact with people, and watch people interact with each other. I am a perfectionist who loves to get the job done (on time). I am also a sucker for movies... I could spend a whole day watching movies. I also enjoy reading; however, I have a hard time motivating myself to read. I love to travel and would love to go to New York City (because of my passion towards people and city life), Washington D.C. (my love for history and politics), Boston (just seems like a really awesome place), Los Angeles- or any other Southern Californian city (I have an obsession over Southern Californian architecture), and Italy (I am very proud of my Italian culture, and I do have relatives in Italy who I've never even met!!)... These are just the places on the top of my head!!! I have many idols who continue to swap the number one spot on my "list of idols" very often. Currently, my number one male idol is Leonard Bernstein (the BEST conductor ever), and my number one female idol is Goldie Hawn (the BEST actress ever). Other than that, one of my biggest lifetime goals is to inspire as many people as possible. I believe we all have the power to inspire each other and I think we should use that power more often. I also love life and encourage myself and everybody I know to live it to the fullest. You should never ever live the same day twice!

Posted on July 21, 2012, in Song of the Week and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I was singing this song last week and it even cropped up in the photo challenge I posted last week, for “dreaming”.

    By all means go visit California. The state is huge and has so many diverse areas. From the hot sandy beaches to the south to the cool coastal redwoods on the north, dormant volcanoes, rivers, lakes, Hollywood, San Francisco, Disneyland, Laguna Beach, Carmel, all the missions, the wine country… It is fabulous, so wonderful to travel!

    That said, it is not the land of opportunity any longer. The state is in disarray, the financial siuation for the schools is precarious, the state dead last out of all 50 states in education. It makes me sad to see it in such bad shape, but we tried to move back there and lived it from 2008-2010, to be near family, and the opportunities so dismal that we moved back where we could both teach and neither of us has to fear pinkslipping.

    It is definitely a beacon for travel, and I highly recommend it. You could easily spend a month and never be bored! But please don’t ever consider moving there. It’s not a beacon of opportunity. It is so sad, but California is self-destructing. We lived it and we’re lucky we were able to escape it back to Maine, where we both have jobs!

  2. Gosh, had no idea that the conditions were so bad there. I agree, it is really sad. I still definitely want to go there for vacation though! I can’t believe the education system is that bad too. Horrible. Thanks for the insight!

    You mentioned teaching… What do you and your husband teach?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

