Merry Christmas! Happy Holidays!

Full post found here: https://doowopdoowah.wordpress.com/2016/12/25/merry-christmas-doo-woppers/

An iconic and FAVORITE Christmas song!!! Oh, and did I mention, it’s DOO WOP!! Darlene Love has been singing this song on TV for years. This time she gets a special accompaniment by Patti LaBelle! Interestingly, Patti LaBelle, although not often regarded for such, also sang doo wop back in the early 1960s. Like Aretha […]

via Merry Christmas, doo woppers!! — doowopdoowah

About doowopdoowah

Hello and welcome! This site is dedicated to the incredible music known as “doo wop” from the 1950s and 1960s. As a psychologist and musician, I am fascinated by the soul and passion that lives within the many songs from these tumultuous times. “Doo wop” is an indelible style of popular music that filled the airwaves and hearts of many throughout the 1950s and 1960s. This music is soulful, passionate, romantic. But most importantly, it is nostalgic music. Many might say that the nostalgia comes from the individual memories and experiences people had with this music back in the day (at the diners, the drive-in movies, in the backseat of the ’57 Chevy, on the street corners). However, as a young adult who certainly did not live through the 1950s and 1960s, I also become very nostalgic when listening to this music. There is an innocence to it, a certain romantic charm that warms the heart and brings a few tears. I acknowledge that everyone experiences music differently. We all have individual tastes, favorites. Some may not have ever experienced doo wop music and for those who have, they may not find this music "nostalgic". But the truth is, most of us (regardless where in the world you're from) have all experienced doo wop at some point in our lives, whether it was while watching a movie, a TV show, or scrolling through the radio stations. You might have even experienced it while listening to Meghan Trainor (Yes, doo wop music is still recorded and produced today)! The purpose of this site is to share and reflect upon some great music from a very tumultuous time in history, and also upon the legacy this music has left. I hope this site allows people of all ages to see that doo wop is a spirit, a zeitgeist from a chaotic time in America when people were divided and could turn only to their own voices to express their passion and angst. Indeed, the nostalgia and passion of doo wop lies not only in the memories and experiences from way back when; it lies within the music. ABOUT ME I have been on WordPress now for over a decade. While writing has never been my strongest suit, I do tend to enjoy it, and this is my space to sort it out! So, I apologize in advance if I may sound as though I am rambling and making no sense in my posts. In addition to being a mental health professional and performer, fundamentally I'm a talker, a learner, and a seeker. I thoroughly enjoy engaging with others on Wordpress, especially related to music, and learning from others. As evidenced from this blog, I am very passionate about old R&B from the 50s and 60s (aka doo wop), but I also thoroughly enjoy showtunes, jazz, and Beethoven. It seems that I never stop learning about people, even those that I think I know so well, including myself. The world is a big place, with lots of people and lots of stories. I am a glutton for culture and nothing beats drifting around and feeling the energy that emulates from a place. Other than that, I believe we all have the power to inspire each other and I think we should use that power more often. I hope that we can inspire each other by reflecting on great music - and other things too! Doowopdoowah is a music blog, but I hope to share and explore other feelings and thoughts that arise, especially when listening to music! I hope you can connect with something here, and please, reach out, and share your thoughts and feelings! Read (and LISTEN) on!

Posted on December 25, 2016, in Living Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment